Thoughts on books, family, and life in one impressive package.

Book Cover Image: Summer's Crossing by Julie KagawaTitle: Summer’s Crossing

Author: Julie Kagawa

Synopsis (Courtesy of Powell’s Books):

“A Midsummer’s Nightmare?

Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Summer Court prankster, King Oberon’s right hand, bane of many a faery queen’s existence–and secret friend to Prince Ash of the Winter Court. Until one girl’s death came between them, and another girl stole both their hearts.

Now Ash has granted one favor too many and someone’s come to collect, forcing the prince to a place he cannot go without Puck’s help–into the heart of the Summer Court. And Puck faces the ultimate choice–betray Ash and possibly win the girl they both love, or help his former friend turned bitter enemy pull off a deception that no true faery prankster could possibly resist.”

Thoughts: Summer’s Crossing is the perfect appetizer for those anxiously awaiting the final installment in the Iron Fey series. It takes place shortly after the end of The Iron Queen, as Ash is still reeling from Meghan’s banishment. This time, Puck gets to tell the story, much to the reader’s delight.

Puck is at his goofiest as he helps Ash pay off his debt, but Summer’s Crossing is not without its pathos. Because he is telling the story, the reader for the first time really understands just how deep his love for Meghan is. There is a very real moment where Puck’s final choice is truly unknown.

While there is very little that furthers the overall series plot, Summer’s Crossing is a welcome distraction and a great way for Ash and Puck lovers to both be happy. In addition, the reader is left with a greater appreciation for and understanding of Puck and Ash’s former friendship. It sheds greater light on their more recent conflicts and sets the tone for the final novel. Overall, Summer’s Crossing is a fun side story in a great series.

Acknowledgements: Mine. All mine.

Bookmark and Share
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

%d bloggers like this: