Thoughts on books, family, and life in one impressive package.

Book Cover Image: The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
Wonderland. A word we all love and know. A dreamscape filled with fantastic things, all created by a young girl named Alice. But what if all of it was real?

Wonderland is real. And it’s at war. Seven-year-old Alyss Heart, heir of the throne, has escaped Wonderland, along with her bodyguard Hatter Madigan, through a mysterious body of water known as the Pool of Tears. Said to teleport you to a different world (and never being able to come back), Hatter and Alyss are separated in an unfamiliar world: Earth.

But she’s not safe yet. Alyss’ evil Aunt Redd, now queen of the Wonderland, after a series of beheadings, has not forgotten that her niece has escaped. Now, Hatter must hurry to find the lost princess so she can claim back her rightful place as the Queen of Hearts.

All I have to say is, “Wow”. Frank Beddor has taken Lewis Carroll’s make-believe world and turned it into something almost believable. The book is like a giant puzzle; it had to fit in with every bit of detail from Lewis Carroll’s book. For instance, everyone knows the Cheshire cat. In Frank’s Wonderland, the mischievous feline is actually a murderous assassin, part cat and part human. Get the picture? The Looking Glass Wars amazed me and after reading it, I was really upset thinking it was the end. But, hallelujah, it’s a trilogy! Isn’t that just wonderful?

Image: Connor's Signature Block

Bookmark and Share
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

%d bloggers like this: