Category Archives: J Author

The Loneliest Girl is unputdownable

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James

Genre: Suspense; Thriller; Young Adult; Science Fiction; Action and Adventure Publication Date: 3 July 2018 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “The daughter of two astronauts, Romy Silvers is no stranger to life in space. But she never knew how isolating the universe could be until her parents’ tragic deaths left her alone on the Infinity,…

Fall in love with An American Marriage

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publication Date: 6 February 2018 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their…

A very political Tarnished City

Tarnished City by Vic James

Genre: Fantasy Publication Date: 6 February 2018 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “The captivating dystopian trilogy that began with Gilded Cage continues. In a modern Britain where magic users control wealth, politics—and you—an uprising has been crushed. In its aftermath, two families will determine the country’s fate. The ruthless Jardines make a play for ultimate…

The good and the bad in recent mystery novels

  Genre: Mystery; Young Adult Publication Date: 16 January 2018 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and…

The Wolves of Winter left me cold

The Wolves of Winter by Tyrell Johnson

Genre: Science Fiction; Dystopian Fiction Publication Date: 2 January 2018 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “Forget the old days. Forget summer. Forget warmth. Forget anything that doesn’t help you survive in the endless white wilderness beyond the edges of a fallen world. Lynn McBride has learned much since society collapsed in the face of nuclear…

I found I thoroughly enjoyed I Found You

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Genre: Suspense & Thriller Publication Date: 25 April 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “In the windswept British seaside town of Ridinghouse Bay, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on a beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she…

Gilded Cage – So many questions, so few answers…which is not a bad thing

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Genre: Fantasy Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs…

The Dressmaker’s Dowry is a dud

The Dressmaker's Dowry by Meredith Jaeger

Genre: Fiction Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom… San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O’Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while…

Book Review – The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Title: The Fate of the Tearling Author: Erika Johansen ISBN: 9780062290427 No. of Pages: 496 Genre: Fantasy Origins: Harper Release Date: 29 November 2016 Synopsis: “In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has transformed from a gawky teenager into a powerful monarch. As she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling,…

Book Review – The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Title: The Invasion of the Tearling Author: Erika Johansen ISBN: 9780062290397 No. of Pages: 528 Genre: Fantasy Origins: Harper Release Date: 9 June 2015 Synopsis: “With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, she…