Category Archives: J Author

The Wolves of Winter left me cold

The Wolves of Winter by Tyrell Johnson

Genre: Science Fiction; Dystopian Fiction Publication Date: 2 January 2018 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “Forget the old days. Forget summer. Forget warmth. Forget anything that doesn’t help you survive in the endless white wilderness beyond the edges of a fallen world. Lynn McBride has learned much since society collapsed in the face of nuclear…

I found I thoroughly enjoyed I Found You

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Genre: Suspense & Thriller Publication Date: 25 April 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “In the windswept British seaside town of Ridinghouse Bay, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on a beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she…

Gilded Cage – So many questions, so few answers…which is not a bad thing

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Genre: Fantasy Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs…

The Dressmaker’s Dowry is a dud

The Dressmaker's Dowry by Meredith Jaeger

Genre: Fiction Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom… San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O’Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while…

Book Review – The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Title: The Fate of the Tearling Author: Erika Johansen ISBN: 9780062290427 No. of Pages: 496 Genre: Fantasy Origins: Harper Release Date: 29 November 2016 Synopsis: “In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has transformed from a gawky teenager into a powerful monarch. As she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling,…

Book Review – The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Title: The Invasion of the Tearling Author: Erika Johansen ISBN: 9780062290397 No. of Pages: 528 Genre: Fantasy Origins: Harper Release Date: 9 June 2015 Synopsis: “With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, she…

Book Review – The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

Title: The Girls in the Garden Author: Lisa Jewell ISBN: 9781476792217 No. of Pages: 320 Genre: Contemporary Fiction Origins: Atria Books Release Date: 7 June 2016 Synopsis: “Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve…

Reading Redux – The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Title: The Name of the Star Author: Maureen Johnson ISBN: 9780399256608 No. of Pages: 368 Genre: Thriller; Fantasy; Young Adult Origins: Mine. All mine. Release Date: 29 September 2011 Synopsis: “The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London…

Novel Nuggets – Love is Red by Sophie Jaff

Love is Red by Sophie Jaff

Title: Love is Red Author: Sophie Jaff ISBN: 9780062346261 No. of Pages: 384 Genre: Fantasy Origins: HarperCollins Release Date: 12 May 2015 Synopsis: “Redefining the thriller’s tale of the hunter and the hunted, This electrifying, hypnotically beautiful debut spins dark suspense and literary fantasy into a mesmerizing story of survival. Katherine Emerson was born to…

Mini-reviews Part I

Book Review Button