Category Archives: Books Read in 2017

I See You and I’m not a fan

I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Genre: Suspense and Thriller; Crime Mysteries Publication Date: 21 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “The author of the New York Times bestseller I Let You Go propels readers into a dark and claustrophobic thriller, in which a normal, everyday woman becomes trapped in the confines of her normal, everyday world… Every morning and…

Gilded Cage – So many questions, so few answers…which is not a bad thing

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Genre: Fantasy Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs…

The Girl Before is the best type of mindf*ck

The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney

Genre: Psychological Suspense Publication Date: 24 January 2017 Source: Publisher Synopsis from the Publisher: “Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life. The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating. EMMA Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none…

The very buzzworthy Lincoln in the Bardo

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Genre: Literary Fiction; Historical Fiction Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December: a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented February…

The Shimmering Road shimmers but does not shine

The Shimmering Road by Hester Young

Genre: Women’s Fiction; Suspense and Thriller Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “A pulse-pounding mystery from the author of The Gates of Evangeline featuring Charlotte ‘Charlie’ Cates, an unforgettable heroine whose dark visions bring to light secrets that will save or destroy those around her . . . When soon-to-be mother Charlotte…

Universal Harvester is the Midwest in all its weird glory

Universal Harvester by John Darnielle

Genre: Fiction; Short Stories Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “Jeremy works at the Video Hut in Nevada, Iowa. It’s a small town in the center of the state—the first a in Nevada pronounced ay. This is the late 1990s, and even if the Hollywood Video in Ames poses an…

Let in The Refugees

The Refugees by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Genre: Fiction; Short Stories Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015, the winner not only of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction but also the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, the Edgar Award…

The Book of Strange New Things is not for me

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber

Genre: Science Fiction; Literary Fiction Publication Date: 28 October 2014 Source: Purchased Synopsis from the Publisher: “It begins with Peter, a devoted man of faith, as he is called to the mission of a lifetime, one that takes him galaxies away from his wife, Bea. Peter becomes immersed in the mysteries of an astonishing new environment, overseen by…

The Dressmaker’s Dowry is a dud

The Dressmaker's Dowry by Meredith Jaeger

Genre: Fiction Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom… San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O’Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while…

The Possessions: What does it mean?

The Possessions by Sara Flannery Murphy

Genre: Psychological Suspense Publication Date: 7 February 2017 Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Synopsis from the Publisher: “In this electrifying literary debut, a young woman who channels the dead for a living crosses a dangerous line when she falls in love with one of her clients, whose wife died under mysterious circumstances. In an unnamed city, Eurydice works…