Author Archives: Michelle

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 27 February 2017

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? Button

Hosted by Kathryn from Book Date, this is a weekly event to share what we’ve read in the past week and what we hope to read, plus whatever else comes to mind. To learn more about each book, just click on the book cover!  I finished two excellent books last week and am really looking forward…

Sunday Reflections – 26 February 2017

Sunday Reflections Button

Happy Sunday! Everyone here is taking a quick breather this morning before the next event. It has been a busy weekend for us. Connor had a forensics meet on Friday for which I got sucked into volunteering to help tabulate results. Neither one of use got home until late Friday night. On Saturday, Jim had to…

Fabulous Friday – 24 February 2017

Fabulous Friday Button

We should always find ways to celebrate the little things in life. What better day to celebrate these little things than the best day of the week? So, here are the things that make this a Fabulous Friday for me this week. ******************** We made it through another week of “What the hell is the president doing?”…

I See You and I’m not a fan

I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Genre: Suspense and Thriller; Crime Mysteries Publication Date: 21 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “The author of the New York Times bestseller I Let You Go propels readers into a dark and claustrophobic thriller, in which a normal, everyday woman becomes trapped in the confines of her normal, everyday world… Every morning and…

Gilded Cage – So many questions, so few answers…which is not a bad thing

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Genre: Fantasy Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs…

The Girl Before is the best type of mindf*ck

The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney

Genre: Psychological Suspense Publication Date: 24 January 2017 Source: Publisher Synopsis from the Publisher: “Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life. The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating. EMMA Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 20 February 2017

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? Button

Hosted by Kathryn from Book Date, this is a weekly event to share what we’ve read in the past week and what we hope to read, plus whatever else comes to mind. To learn more about each book, just click on the book cover! I made reading a bit more of a priority this week, and…

Sunday Reflections – 19 February 2017

Sunday Reflections Button

Happy Sunday! I don’t know about where you live, but it was absolutely gorgeous this weekend with sunny skies and temperatures in the low 60s. This is not normal February weather, so we all took advantage of it. Windows were opened, and we all found reasons to stay outside as much as possible. The weather…

Fabulous Friday – 17 February 2017

Fabulous Friday Button

We should always find ways to celebrate the little things in life. What better day to celebrate these little things than the best day of the week? So, here are the things that make this a Fabulous Friday for me this week. ******************** We made it through another week of “What the hell is the president doing?”…

The very buzzworthy Lincoln in the Bardo

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Genre: Literary Fiction; Historical Fiction Publication Date: 14 February 2017 Source: Publisher via NetGalley Synopsis from the Publisher: “The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December: a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented February…